Login Register

Discussion

“Seeking info and pictures of Barnes Garage,Longsmith street,Gloucester.
It was a Rover Garage 1940s to 1970s.”

By jase77 Posted: February 22, 2013

6 comments

6 replies

Start the discussion

max 4000 characters
  • lindenengine  |  February 25 2013, 4:31AM

jase77 Greetings. I recall going to Gloucester Tech College with an apprentice from Barnes Garage in 1964. We were studying MV basic mechanics courses then. I was an apprentice at Watts Factors on Mercia Road opposite the cattle market. Of course it was a new stock market in '64 having moved from where the bus centre was near Kings Sq. As a kid in the 1950's can still remember cattle being driven down the Oxebode to market. If my memory serves me well, Barnes Garage went out of business and the shop (garage) in Longsmith St lay empty for a while. A brick cavernous building was my impression, with two swing out brown wooden doors. It was dank and dismal inside like so many vehicle repair shops of the era with flag stone oil stained floors. I used to frequent the nearby Cross Keys or the pub near Lundegaards on Southgate St as a biker (or ton up boy as they were called back in the 60's) A former mechanic one Eric Warner who worked at Watts as the master mechanic was an ex Royal Navy WW2 veteran with his partner, one individual a called Tranter who took over the building as "Warner and Tranter" Motor Engineers. "Bespoke mechanics to the Gentry" was their motto after having set up the partnership in a rental premises on the comer of the Westgate and Key streets. I don't know about "gentry", but they did have a lot of business from the Carib community down in the Barton St area. If I knew Eric it was more than a "take the mick" out of those snooty repair shops in Cheltenham! I last went to see Eric in the early 1990's during a visit to my native city when I emigrated to Venezuela and I remember wandering about looking at what cars he had under repair include a troublesome MG Montego. (A